Dreaming of Spring and Green Grass!

Chick on hen's back.

I’m not the only one waiting for warmer weather!

Well, it’s been a hard winter this year in Nova Scotia and as March rolls over into April there are still several feet of snow on the ground. DSCF9398

I love winter and I enjoy the beauty of the snow and the chance to snowshoe through the woods. It’s wonderful to have the time to sit by the fire, to read a book or to visit friends but it’s now April, and I’m done with all that. I want to put away the snow shovels and I’m ready to swap my winter boots for gardening shoes!

Winter in the garden

Snow shoes are still needed to get to the garden.

 

But the garden is still only accessible with snow shoes and the snow banks are still many feet high; all I can do is dream of green grass. So to remind me that spring will surely come, I’ve put together a list of the things that I want to be doing in the not-too-distant future.

Silver Laced wyandotte chick

I want to be able to count spring chickens…

 

Basket of garden vegetables

I want to be able to pick fresh vegetables from the garden….

Bumble bee on red clover

And I want to hear the bees again….

Berkshire pig in sweetcorn field

I want to eat fresh sweetcorn…

Butterfly on Sunflower

And I want to watch the butterflies….

Pigs grazing in woods

I want to hear the happy grunting of pigs in the woods….

And I want to see the pigs playing in the green grass!

What are you looking forward to?

 

 

 

 

About Jane Fowler

We are working towards a sustainable lifestyle, homeschooling our children, growing all our own food and creating art. Join us in our journey, learning with us along the way.
Gallery | This entry was posted in All posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dreaming of Spring and Green Grass!

  1. What fabulous pics! I am so excited to just be outside and feel warm— simple pleasures! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

